Journey Under the Bridge

Earlier this month, I knocked two items off my Bucket List. I’ll share these adventures with you over the next couple of days.

Ever since I was a child, I’ve had a fascination with the Mackinac Bridge. Almost every summer, my family would make a trip north, to visit my mother’s friend from high school, Val. Val and her husband Roger live in Wakefield, Michigan… which is almost to Wisconsin. So “the bridge” was our halfway point.

I remember seeing advertisements for boat trips that took tourists underneath The Mighty Mac. Each summer, I would beg to go… but each summer, we were in too much of a rush to get there or get home. Or we ended up taking the ferry over to Mackinac Island.

This year, I knew I’d end up in Mackinaw City for the release of our book, Murdick’s Mackinaw Mystery, so I made plans to finally take my ride under the bridge. The boat was the Ugly Annie… and the trip was simply magnificent. Of course, this is coming from the guy that was always more impressed with the Hoover Dam than the Grand Canyon. I guess man-made mechanical marvels are more interesting to me than natural creations… more on that in another post.

For now, here are some pictures from my trip under the Mackinac Bridge:

IMG_3174

One of the island ferries, with the Grand Hotel in the background.

IMG_3181

Approaching the bridge, traveling West.

IMG_3218

I couldn’t get enough of this view…

IMG_3239

Yeah… after seeing this, I won’t be driving in the center lanes again.

IMG_3241

One final pass under the bridge, traveling East.

Leave a Reply

