Bucket List Photo Challenge: Day 148.

Day 148 of my Bucket List Photo Challenge!

This is a story of a dirty little dog. Pardon me for hijacking today’s photo challenge, but you’ll get more than one photo to go with this story, I promise.

On Friday, the Lucas County Dog Warden updated their Facebook page just seconds after I had returned home from an hours-long errand-running adventure. I was exhausted. But what I saw caught my eye. The warden had posted, “A few new dogs are now available for adoption. Pappy is a papillon/poodle mix… Pictures coming soon!”

Well, I had to go see for myself, no matter how tired I was. I couldn’t wait for a photo— small dogs usually don’t last too long at the Dog Warden. And I’ve already got one Papillon, named Riley (maybe you’ve seen him, since I post three million photos of him…). Anyway, off to the Dog Warden we went. And this is what we saw:

photo-19

He was a little dirty, a little stinky, a little scared. But Pappy, as the dog warden named him, was living on the streets before being brought into them on May 3rd. Neglected and sickly, the good folks at the Warden’s office nursed him back to health during the past several weeks.

And as soon as I held him, I knew we’d be taking him home. Of course, Pappy rolled over for a belly rub and acted as playful as possible, just for good measure.

I’d been thinking about adding another dog to the mix for a while now. I always think that having two dogs extends the life and energy levels of both. And I can’t help but think that Riley must be bored sometimes. What’s a dog to do when his owner is just typing on a computer all day?

But we put Pappy on hold, taking the night to think about this change to our routine.

Saturday morning came around… and we headed to the pet store to pick up a collar. I couldn’t help but think that the timing and situation couldn’t be more perfect:

  • If we were getting another dog, it would be a shelter dog. There are just way too many great dogs in shelters.
  • He was a papillon! He would look like Riley’s cousin!
  • My traveling is on hold for a few years, due to a new job that I will be starting soon.
  • It is springtime— the best time to train a dog, because they’ll eagerly head outside.
  • The dog was already a celebrity, having been featured on the local newspaper’s dog spotlight:

http://www.toledoblade.com/videoplayer?vid=24844149&cid=10097&freewheel=59432&sitesection=toledoblade&wid=2&videosectionid=frontpage

So, Pappy came home with us. But we renamed him first…

I know! I know! Maybe it’s tradition to stick with the name the Warden has issued… but I just couldn’t see Pappy as a Pappy. We always said that if another dog was brought into the family, it would be called Zipper.

Here is Riley, meeting his new little brother… Zipper:

photo-18

Memorial Day weekend is the traditional kick-off to summer. If the rest of the summer goes like this weekend did, it will be the best one yet.

Yes, my little Zipper has made me a very happy guy… he might have been a little dirty when he was brought home. But we’ve got him well on his way to being a member of the family.

We’ll call this picture DIRTY and scratch it off the list!

Here is the complete list for the month of May:

Wild

School

Fearless

Wonder

Farm

Historic

Light

Bright

Scary

Reading

Tree

Flowers

Rare

Verse

Weeds

BBQ

Laugh

Storm

Play

Time

Treasure

Talent

Friendship

Animal

Excitement

Pure

Dirty

Bargain

Improvement

Forward

May Photo Challenge

Remember, let me know here if you’re doing a Bucket List Photo Challenge in 2013. And upload your photo to Twitter using #BucketListPhotoChallenge

Please let me know if you’re participating so I can give you a shout-out here!

Thanks for visiting this blog! As you see, it is not supported by advertising. If you would like to personally support this blog and its authors, here is what you can do:

1. Go pick up a copy of Pete the Popcorn at Amazon! Pete the Popcorn was our first book, nationally recognized as a perfectly subtle anti-bullying message for youngsters. You can LIKE Pete on Facebook by visiting www.Facebook.com/PeteThePopcorn. And you’ll find all sortz of information like videos, photos and school visit PDF files at www.PeteThePopcorn.com.

2. Support the worldwide marketing push for our brand new book, First Photo of The Royal Baby! This cute story contains an important lesson for children: a simple smile breaks all language barriers. The book is our opportunity to spread our messages to a new worldwide audience— and it can happen with your help! Visit the Facebook page at www.Facebook.com/RoyalBabyPhoto.

3. Treat yourself to our popular book Casey and Callie Cupcake! This Frosted Fable About Being Fantastic Just The Way You Are teaches children to accept themselves and their friends for the person they are on the inside! Keep track of our new cupcake book offerings on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/CupcakeBook!

Thanks for all your support! If you want to help out in other ways, please contact us!

6 comments on “Bucket List Photo Challenge: Day 148.

  1. love Zipper and Riley…Zipper’s one lucky fellow to have found such a nice home 🙂
    have read my copy of the “First Photo of The Royal Baby”…adorable and like the “lesson” it teaches! now going to give it to the 6 and 3 year old g’kids 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by!

      I feel so great about getting a shelter dog… I know it sounds corny and all, but I just know that he is going to have a great rest of his life.

      Tell your Riley I said Hi!

      Nick

Leave a Reply

