Movie Review: Silver Linings Playbook has plenty…

Silver Linings Playbook is the best movie I’ve seen in a while.

Silver-Linings-Playbook-poster

You know that I simply loved some of the other big films of the past couple months, including Django Unchained, Argo and The Impossible. But Silver Linings Playbook is my personal favorite.

The acting in this movie is superb and I can see why all four acting categories see a name from this work for the first time since Reds did it in 1981.

Jennifer Lawrence, who I didn’t know existed until The Hunger Games, has won me over with her snark and emotion.

Bradley Cooper is still dreamy and his manically bipolar character is done just right, making me question if I’m bipolar myself.

Robert DeNiro is a class act, always has and always will be, but it was nice to see him actually acting here and being funny– not slapstick funny like Meet the Parents… but seriously funny, if that makes any sense.

And Jacki Weaver, who I’ve never really heard of before (or maybe I wasn’t paying attention, since she was nominated for Best Supporting Actress for Animal Kingdom a few years back…), was beautifully heartbreaking as the Mother holding her family together. The love that she shows for her husband and son is touching.

One of the main reasons I totally fell in love with Silver Linings Playbook is that it’s one of those movies that cannot be placed into a box. People will ask if it’s a comedy or a drama. Why does it have to be one or the other? I think it’s a romantic comedy drama with a lesson and it throws in laughs to the greatest effect possible. When have you gone through a dramatic episode in your life and not found something humorous? You know— the silver lining?

And the film also reminds me of something: we’re all searching for our “happily ever after,” but unfortunately it usually is not what we picture it to be. Sometimes we just have to let go and float where life takes us. And usually, that’ll be the fix.

But here’s a hint while you’re watching it: don’t keep thinking of all those Oscar nominations. Just watch and enjoy.

Thanks for visiting this blog! As you see, it is not supported by advertising. If you would like to personally support this blog and its authors, please visit Amazon to purchase our Children’s Book, Pete the Popcorn! If you don’t have a child in your life, donate a copy to your local school or library! Also, we LOVE it when people LIKE us on Facebook. To learn more about our books, please visit www.PeteThePopcorn.com 

4 comments on “Movie Review: Silver Linings Playbook has plenty…

  1. I really enjoyed reading your review, when I finished I said out loud: “My thoughts exactly!” Silver Linings Playbook is a wonderful movie that tells a story just like life and it’s brought to life by amazing set of actors. Can’t get enough of Jennifer Lawrence and Jacki Weaver.

  2. Hi Nick, delightful posts.Thank you for liking my recent post ( earthly glorification.) greetings.jalal

  3. It is funny to see Jacki Weaver in a Hollywood type movie. She is an icon in Australia in drama series and Australiana. Good to see others appreciate her talents. Can’t wait to see this movie.

Leave a Reply

