Bucket List 2013: Immerse Myself in Music.

Bucket Lists, in my opinion, don’t always have to be about jumping out of airplanes (guilty as charged!) or traveling or experiencing some crazy new thing in your life. Sometimes, an item on your Bucket List could and should be as simple as doing something to make yourself more complete.

Me? I miss exploring new music… and maybe even revisiting old music.

There was a time in my life, from 2001-2002-2003 that I just lived and breathed music.

I was working for some of that time at a radio station, so I was constantly able to get to concerts for free… and then I became addicted— going to concert after concert and, yeah, maybe putting myself into debt in the process. But I’ve never had such awesome experiences… diving into new albums– and listening to the entire thing, start to finish, as some artists intend.

This year, I want to carve out some time for diving into music.

The goal?

-Attend 5 LIVE MUSIC EVENTS

-Listen to ONE NEW ALBUM each week

The 5 events can be giant, star-studded concerts… or small, local venues featuring musicians just traveling through.

And the albums? They don’t have to be “new”— just new to me. Give me some direction here, folks: what is your favorite album to listen to from start-to-finish? What’s the best album you’ve heard in the past year? What’s your favorite song? I’m going to look up the full album and give it a whirl.

Here is what I like: EVERYTHING! Really— people say it all the time, but I love every kind of music! Don’t believe me? Most of these are rather mainstream, but just to give you an idea:

My favorite song: Walking in Memphis…

My favorite concert ever: Eminem… even though I almost died.

My weirdest concert ever: Bette Midler…

Favorite Recent Song: Starships, Nicki Minaj…

Favorite Song on the Radio Right Now: Die  Young, Kesha…

Favorite Artist of the Past Five Years: Lady Gaga…

Favorite Person That Bought Me a Pepsi: Gavin Degraw…

Favorite Artist That I Hate to Admit I Like His Music: Kanye West…

Favorite Artist That I Used to Love But Now I Still Respect Even Though I Think She’s a Slut-Pig:

When I Want to Sing Along, I Listen To: Reba…

Best Thing Ever? Hearing Someone Change Up a Song That You Love: And this girl did it great, Drew from X Factor Season 1:

Most Surprisingly Enjoyable Concert: James Taylor…

Most Surprisingly Enjoyable Youtube clip: Patti Smith…

Best Music to Drink With a Cold Beer in Hand: Jimmy…

Best Way to Waste a Snowy Night: Watching YouTube Covers of People Singing Famous Songs…

So there it is… you can see that I believe my musical tastes run the gamut. But I do feel like I’ve lost the time to explore… and I will get that time back in 2013. I’d like your suggestions and input!

Nick

Thanks for visiting this blog! As you see, it is not supported by advertising. If you would like to personally support this blog and its authors, please visit Amazon to purchase our Children’s Book, Pete the Popcorn! If you don’t have a child in your life, donate a copy to your local school or library! Also, we LOVE it when people LIKE us on Facebook. To learn more about our books, please visit www.PeteThePopcorn.com 

One comment on “Bucket List 2013: Immerse Myself in Music.

  1. Music. *Sigh* So many albums to share with you, but here is a start:

    The Story of The Clash, volumes 1 AND 2.
    Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
    Band of Horses – Cease to Begin
    Ben Folds with Nick Hornby – Lonely Avenue (Nick Hornby wrote the stories, Ben Folds wrote the music to them.)
    The Black Keys – El Camino
    The Very Best of Daryl Hall & John Oates
    The Decemberists (So many whimsical albums, but i’ll have you start with the same one that turned me onto them.) – The Crane Wife
    The Dresden Dolls – Yes, Virginia
    Flight of the Conchords – Flight of the Conchords
    Givers – In Light
    Lovers – Dark Light
    Lucinda Williams – Car Wheels on a Gravel Road
    The Lumineers – The Lumineers
    Madeleine Peyroux – Half the Perfect World
    The Mattson 2 – Feeling Hands
    Mirah & Thao – Thao & Mirah
    Modest Mouse – Good News for People Who Love Bad News
    The National – Boxer
    Of Montreal – Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer?
    The Pines – Dark so Gold
    Poe – Hello
    The Postal Service – Give Up
    Regina Spektor – Soviet Kitsch
    The Shins – Chutes Too Narrow
    SparkleHorse – It’s a Wonderful Life
    Tegan and Sara – The Con
    Todd Snider – Agnostic Hymns & Stoner Fables
    Tortoise – TNT
    Yann Tiersen’s Amelie Soundtrack

    Each of these suggestions come from my personal experience listening to the entire album, over and over, at some point in my life. Just like the artist intended.

Leave a Reply

