Old Faithful and SNOW! Yellowstone National Park on Day 7 of Tour

I never thought I’d see snow in September. But before we get to that… I went to bed on Saturday night with rain sprinkling down on the tent in Madison Campground in Yellowstone National Park.

The rain was a blessing. It helped me sleep fast– before the temperatures dropped into the low 30’s overnight. At about 2:30, it was time for a bathroom break. And let me tell ya’: the stars were stunning.

Just after I had settled my four-layered body back into my sleeping bag, I heard what could only be described as a mad growl. A bear. Thankfully, that was the closest we got to one… close enough to hear. But that’s all.

At 5:45, my alarm went off. We were convinced we had to get to Old Faithful early– had to beat the crowds and get a good video for all of you watching at home. Well, get there early, we did. When Old Faithful stayed true to its name and spurted only 5 minutes after our arrival, there were only about 10 people there– including us.

I’m what might be described as a “spoiled” traveler: I like enjoying things without a hoard of others around. I suppose most people are that way, really. But I’m willing to work for it— as evidenced by getting up at 5:45 to see a geyser.

And we got some good shots to show for it:

Here I am at Old Faithful… with the geyser doing its thing… can you tell it’s early and freezing?

Joe at Old Faithful… somehow he always makes an astonished face.

I love rapids in rivers. I could have literally sat at this spot for the entire day.

Gotta get up early to get a bright orange sunrise shot…

Now, here is the video from today’s journey… including running into a snowstorm on the trip from Yellowstone to Billings!

Thanks for watching— and remember that we need YOUR help today to purchase books for kids. It’s only $10 and you’ll make the day of a deserving child. 

 

 

Thanks for visiting this blog! As you see, it is not supported by advertising. If you would like to personally support this blog and its authors, please visit Amazon to purchase our Children’s Book, Pete the Popcorn! If you don’t have a child in your life, donate a copy to your local school or library! Also, we LOVE it when people LIKE us on Facebook. To learn more about our books, please visit www.PeteThePopcorn.com 

3 comments on “Old Faithful and SNOW! Yellowstone National Park on Day 7 of Tour

  1. HoleeSMOKES. I was a tiny, unappreciative tot when i was last in Yellowstone. I better start planning a spring trip. Some may call it the “middle of nowhere,” but the middle of nowhere is breath-taking.

  2. Yeah, Megan— Joe needs to learn how to position that camera. LOL. I was just so amazed by Yellowstone. I thought it was going to be boring, honestly. But we’re already planning to go back for at least a week next summer.

Leave a Reply

