Bucket List! Another one bites the dust!

So back on December 30th, we talked about one of my Bucket List items for 2012. As you may recall, I created a bucket list of items that I want to complete, not just before I die, but THIS YEAR!

Number FIVE on my list was to go on a NEW CRUISE.

I’m a cruise person– I’ve been on a ton of them and I want to continue. There’s so many diverse things to do, so many great people to meet– and countless awesome destinations to visit. So my goal was to complete a cruise that saw some new ports. I’ve done the Caribbean. I’ve been to Mexico and forgot half the visits. Panama Canal was fantastic… but it’s done. So in 2012, I wanted to do something NEW!

I’m very happy to report that I was able to scratch another item off the Bucket List for 2012… because I just returned from a cruise that sailed between Barcelona, Spain and Dubai, United Arab Emirates. I’ve never been to Europe. Never been to the Middle East. Never sailed through the Suez Canal. And never fought off pirates. Until now. Well, maybe that pirate bit was an exaggeration. Whatever.

So we left Barcelona on a clear day.

Here we go! Joe, you can throw that jacket in the luggage… you’re not gonna need it.

And then we were off! First stop: Alexandria, Egypt. We will go into more detail later this week… but we saw the pyramids. And had no other excitement.

The authors at The Pyramids of Giza.

After that, we went through the Suez Canal.

Nick makes this pose at every canal, apparently.

Next Stop: Aqaba, Jordan.

Nick and Joe with their new friend and dinner mate, Jennifer.

After Jordan, we were back to Egypt! Docking in Safaga, we took a day trip to Luxor. Valley of the Kings, a cruise on the Nile, the Karnak Temple. It was a very moving day.

Nick in Luxor.

Nick on the steps of the Hatshepsut Temple in Luxor, Egypt.

Finally done with port calls, we had six wonderful days at sea. Days at sea is when the trouble begins.

For instance, we make the housekeeping staff put on wigs. All in good fun.

We disembarked in Dubai and took a city tour before heading to the airport. Of course, we took the obligatory photo at the Burj Al Arab hotel.

Nick at the Burj Al Arab. Anyone wanna loan me a grand to stay there for the night?

It was a great trip and we will definitely be going into more detail over the coming days. More stories. More photos. More fun. At least I hope.

Just to recap what I’ve done and what I need to do in the next six months:

2012 Bucket List

1. Complete a 2-week juice fast.
2. Attend a “Destination Party”
3. Produce a Mini-Documentary
4. Camp for a Week… with Diverse Friends.
5. Go on a “NEW” Cruise
6. Learn Something, Make a Change
7. Pete. Pete. Pete.

Whoa! This means I’m over halfway there? Awesome.

Don’t forget— our new book arrives on June 14th at Amazon.com and via our BOOK RELEASE PARTY! Find out all about it!

Later,

Nick

 

Thanks for visiting this blog! As you see, it is not supported by advertising. If you would like to personally support this blog and its authors, please visit Amazon to purchase our Children’s Book, Pete the Popcorn! If you don’t have a child in your life, donate a copy to your local school or library! Also, we LOVE it when people LIKE us on Facebook. To learn more about our books, please visit www.PeteThePopcorn.com 

One comment on “Bucket List! Another one bites the dust!

  1. Im soooooooooooooooooo jealous right now of you guys!!!!! The middle east is on my bucket list with a special stop to visit petra. So ridiculously jealous…..

Leave a Reply

