Crocodiles and Monkeys! Part Two.

Last week, we learned about our visit to the monkey farm.

There seems to be some confusion– these were wild monkeys. They just know that when vans show up loaded with fat people and cameras, there will be food. So the monkeys come down from the trees and smile for the cameras for a nibble of cookies and bananas. Fair trade, if you ask me.

Now— onto the next part!

Costa Rica was just plain gorgeous.

On the way from the monkey farm to the crocodile farm, we stopped at a little tourist trap where I actually learned some stuff. In the photo above, I am pictured (in the middle!) with our guide Astrid, on the right. On the left is a nice Costa Rican man holding a noni fruit.

If you’re not familiar with the noni fruit, go to Costco. There in the vitamin-voodoo-vitality aisle you will likely find a bottle of noni juice. It supposedly helps you lose weight. My Mom did it. She did better on the cabbage soup diet.

Anyway, it was great to see this weird-looking fruit. And it stunk to high heaven!

Another view of the Noni:

I don’t know why… but Joe or Lexi or myself, even… we tend to make fools of ourselves whenever a camera comes our way. Three very quick examples:

That was fun. And as soon as I took that picture above, a Japanese tourist got into the same exact pose!

In Costa Rica, we met Astrid– and we’ve never, ever had a tour guide that knew how to play along with our humor like she did. She even took her own silly pictures:

Now, onto the crocodiles!

Our tour required us to walk across this bridge:

And then we looked down… and saw:

I felt a little bit like that cute little Asian boy from Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom. “Hey lady! You call him Doctor Jones!”

I shuddered to think that soon we would be in boats… next to these cute little guys. Don’t I look excited?

And then we were on the boat!

And we were all very excited to see some crocodiles!

Well… almost all of us.

The first Croc we saw is supposedly the largest on the river. He was scary huge. Yet, Lexi decided it would be a whole lot of fun to reach out and touch!

The scariest part of the whole excursion was how we would be cruising along and suddenly one of these monsters would just emerge from the dark water— and you had no warning as to when it would happen.

I really didn’t want to see anybody lose an arm on this trip, as exciting as that story would be to tell on a blog. Hey! Anyway, our driver was apparently a stuntman, too. Because he took this scrumptious-looking chicken breast, crawled on the muddy land… and…

Ew. That was so scary. But I give the guy tons of credit. And I gave him a $5 tip for the show.

Here is a little baby croc– they hang out on the riverbanks way back into the maze of tributaries that run in the area– if they stay in the main river, they won’t survive. This little guy was about a foot long.

In the end, Costa Rica was amazing.

You just let me sell a million copies of Pete The Popcorn and I’m heading there permanently. Hey, if you purchase a copy of Pete on February 29th through Amazon.com, you can come visit me there! I will send the invitation personally.

Speaking of Pete… if you are new here, Pete the Popcorn is my very first Children’s Book that is being released on February 29th, 2012.

I’m hoping all of my readers will give me a little something back on the 29th and purchase a copy at Amazon.com We are attempting something called a Book Bomb and if you all buy a copy on that specific date, Pete could very well become a hit! And I would so very much appreciate it.

If you think you can help, head over to www.PeteThePopcorn.com and JOIN TEAM PETE. This will let me know to contact you and remind you on PETE DAY which is LEAP DAY!

To learn more about Pete and to see our video trailer for the book, go see the website.

And of course, check back here soon for more fun stories about our travels.

Thanks!

Nick (and Joe)… (and special guest Lexi.)

Leave a Reply

