The Love of My Life.

I left my heart in Columbia.

When I walked off the Coral Princess cruise ship back in November and wandered the steamy streets of Cartagena, I never imagined that Maria would wrap her arms around me, hold me tight, and leave an indelible mark on my life. Maria is my soul mate and I will never forget her. I spend my nights longing to see her again. Oh, Maria.

Here are some photos of my time in Cartagena:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was worried about Columbia. You hear stories in the news about drug cartels and violence and Sofia Vergara. I just wasn’t sure about safety.

But the worst thing that happened all day was being overcharged by the cab driver/tour guide. Another lady in my group fought him tooth-and-nail about his dishonesty… and we paid him only what was agreed upon prior.

Lesson learned– get the quote for your guide in writing, prior to departing.

The second best story of the day: I did get to see cocaine while I was in Columbia. How fascinating! I didn’t set out to see it, it just sort of happened. And as soon as I saw it, I flew out of the situation very, very quickly. In fact, I didn’t think I could move that fast. But I did.

If you ever find yourself in Cartagena, Columbia for the day: tour the old city. Visit the shops. Do lots of walking. Take a ton of pictures. And please say hello to Maria for me.

I'm in love.

Maria has three toes. She is a sloth. And she ripped my heart out of my chest.

I never, ever, ever fall for the tourist trap photos with animals or people dressed scantily in “native” outfits. It’s just not my cup of tea.

However, when I learned I could cuddle a sloth for a mere $2, I was in. Hell, I almost wet myself.

It was the best $2 ever spent on something other than liquor.

You go to Cartagena— and you find yourself a Maria. And you’ll see what I’m talking about.

This Sign Changed My Life.

In all seriousness, Cartagena was a beautiful city. If you ever get the chance to go– do it! I was just there for about 6 hours on a cruise ship… and I would jump at the opportunity to go back and spend some time.

What Nick DIDN'T have for Lunch.

It’s one of my hobbies. I can’t help but take photos of funny signs. This one was just plain bizarre. But what made the story priceless was the older lady who couldn’t stop laughing when she saw me taking the picture. Oh, she knew what was going on in my warped mind. Yes, she did!

 

I will attempt to provide you with some of these Travel Treats from time to time. I’m no Anthony Bourdain. But I do love going places… usually on cruise ships. And I would be honored to pass along a few tips and humorous stories for your reading pleasure.

Hey! Have you gone to www.PeteThePopcorn.com yet?

Later!

Nick

2 comments on “The Love of My Life.

Leave a Reply

