Bucket List: Learn Something, Make a Change

I think New Year’s Resolutions are dumb.

Everybody makes them. Everybody quits them.

And so the cycle goes.

Of all my “Bucket List” items that I’m presenting this week, this one is most like a New Year’s Resolution.

This year, I want to learn something new. And, in the process, change some sort of my life.

Whether this means a new job, learning a new skill, returning to an old skill, changing some interpersonal relationships… I haven’t quite figured it out yet.

But I know that my brain is craving some sort of learning opportunity. Perhaps I have grown bored and unchallenged at work. Or maybe it’s something else that is lacking.

Should I pick up a new language? Try kickboxing? LOL. Make a return to yoga? I did that whole thing about ten years ago and loved it.  Apply for several new jobs and just see what happens?

Any suggestions? Anyone?

What can I learn… that will lead to a small change in my life? Or maybe a change in the life of others?

Just to recap…

2012 Bucket List

1. Complete a 2-week juice fast.
2. Attend a “Destination Party”
3. Produce a Mini-Documentary
4. Camp for a Week… with Diverse Friends.
5. Go on a “NEW” Cruise
6. Learn Something, Make a Change
7. Coming Sunday, January 1st

One comment on “Bucket List: Learn Something, Make a Change

  1. Hi! I was just passing through (I’m a fellow bucket-lister myself and like to see what others are up to :)) and read your plea above. I’ve been there so I can relate. It sounds like you’re craving a change. Change is good – it keeps people motivated, interested and constantly learning and improving their lives.

    What you need to figure out is where the void is, what exactly is lacking, etc., before you can start working on resolving the situation. Personally, I sat in front of a blank piece of paper (or screen, whatever) and wrote down the things that were working for me on the left, and some of the things that weren’t on the right. For you, since you seem to be craving some new brain stimulation, maybe make a list of things you’ve always wanted to learn how to do, then think about how that new skill/knowledge could change your life (or others’) the way you’d want it to. Brainstorming is awesome.

    Using your example above “Learn a new language”, how would that change your life? Would it allow you to travel to a dream place and live like a local for 2 weeks? Would it allow you to teach others? Would it facilitate moving to a new city or country? And would those potions provide the fulfillment you’re seeking? The answers are there – you just have to find them. 🙂

    Wow – this turned into a really long comment. Sorry about that. 🙂 Hope it helps. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

