Bucket List: Produce a Mini-Documentary

I’ve been making videos for years. In fact, I don’t know many people from high school– but they all know me, because I was heavily involved in the in-house school news program. They got to see my fat, smiling face on a daily basis.

The thing is, I loved it. I did mini-documentary productions on Pearl Harbor and the History of Whitmer, the high school I attended. My favorite production was The Return of Toledo, where I interviewed the Mayor, City Council members and county commissioner- that turned into a 2-part special.

Not too bad for a high school video geek.

For the past several years, I’ve been doing Wedding videos in my spare time. And of course some YouTube parody videos.

But in 2012, I want to produce a serious mini-documentary. My goal is to make it 10 minutes or less and I want to learn some things myself and teach my viewers, as well.

What will the subject be? I don’t know. Politics? An environmental story I’ve had my eye on? The economy in this country? A highlight of a local family? A day in my life? Perhaps an overview of our experience writing, producing, promoting and eventually selling Pete the Popcorn? Or a documentary of one of my trips? Or behind-the-scenes at the airport? With access to all of these items in my own life, the possibilities are endless.

What would you like to see?

I’ve got the equipment. I think I have the brain. I just want to see if I’ve still got the touch to put something interesting on film and tell a good story. This might be a very selfish goal… because in a way, it’s total vanity just to see if I can still do this.

Gimme some ideas!

Just to recap…

2012 Bucket List

1. Complete a 2-week juice fast.
2. Attend a “Destination Party”
3. Produce a Mini-Documentary
4. Coming Thursday, December 29th
5. Coming Friday, December 30th
6. Coming Saturday, December 31st
7. Coming Sunday, January 1st

 

Thanks for reading, commenting and sharing!

Nick

 

Leave a Reply

