Let the Bucket List 2012 Begin!

So a few posts back, I mentioned Lesley Carter, an awesome blogger who creates a “Bucket List” every year.

Taking a page out of her book, I have decided to share with you seven goals that I not only want to accomplish before I die, but before the end of 2012.

I will share one item each day this week, with the last one on January 1st. I’m keeping my list to seven items for this year…. Gotta start small.

There’s a really great documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. The filmmaker went on a 60-day juice fast, traveling across the United States while he did it.

20111226-140418.jpg

He ended the trip slimmer, healthier and also helped another extremely sick individual along the way. It’s a good documentary– funny, intelligent and very inspiring. You should check it out.

Anyway, like a lot of people, I’ve had a life-long struggle with my weight. I’ve come to terms with it in the past couple years– I no longer desire to lose weight over fear of what others think about me. However, I would like to lose weight to be healthier, do more with my life and live a longer life.

On my fridge at home is the hottest picture of me. I know it sounds conceited. But I had lost 100 pounds on the Atkins Diet in the early 2000s. And I looked good— and felt better. However, when I started flying, it became extremely difficult to take low-carbohydrate foods with me on my trips. So the weight started going back on.

So this year, after seeing this documentary, I asked for a juicer for Christmas. And Mom came through. This brings me to item number one on the 2012 Bucket List: complete a two-week juice fast.

I figure two weeks is a good starting point. I know 60 days is most likely out of the question. But two weeks can get me started on living a healthier life. I don’t believe in (and I know I can’t do it again) a long-term diet that cuts a complete food group or two out of your daily life. But starting with a two-week juice fast can give me the boost I need to stop eating processed foods. And to start taking something besides ramen noodles to the airport with me.

Plus all those Moms will be lining up to buy a copy of Pete the Popcorn from a good-looking, slimmed-down, if slightly older, Nick. Right?

I’m not putting a typical goal of losing a certain amount of pounds. I’m not Oprah, after all. I just want to be able to say I did this for two weeks, write about it here, and take it from there.

Just to recap…

2012 Bucket List

1. Complete a 2-week juice fast.
2. Coming Tuesday, December 27th
3. Coming Wednesday, December 28th
4. Coming Thursday, December 29th
5. Coming Friday, December 30th
6. Coming Saturday, December 31st
7. Coming Sunday, January 1st

Until tomorrow!

Nick

Leave a Reply

